The Passive Aggressive Gets Even

We’ve been going thru some stuff around here the last week and I’ve been a little more stressed over finances, etc. than usual. A lot of times when I am stressed, I have a tendency to want to sleep. I don’t sleep more than a few hours at a time at night, so many a time I will take a nap during the day. I try to keep them short, about 30 min. because they say it’s easier to pull yourself together afterward if you don’t sleep much longer than that. Unless I’m drinking coffee late in the afternoon, early evening, if I don’t get a nap I can’t hold my eyes open after about 8 pm.

Two days ago I blew it. I laid down for a nap late in the afternoon. I slept for a couple of hours and when I woke up I couldn’t stay awake. I ended up laying my head back down and the next thing I knew it was 9 pm! I hadn’t fixed dinner or anything and no matter how often I tell the passive aggressive BF not to let me sleep too long, he never wakes me unless it’s really something he can’t take care of.

When I finally woke up the BF was no where around. I’m thinking ok, it’s gotten pretty late, he probably fixed dinner. I go out to the kitchen and sure enough there he is. The only problem is it’s 9 o’clock and he’s just starting to put the sausage in the frying pan for the spaghetti sauce. He had already cooked the hamburger (2 pounds of it “because that’s what you bought”) and mixed it with 2 jars of spaghetti sauce. In other words, there was so much meat it was colored a little by the sauce he had put in.

I couldn’t believe it! This man has made spaghetti sauce many, many times before. This was obviously his way of showing his displeasure at my sleeping so long. As I’m starting to take over so I can finish it, I hear the usual rumblings from him “I’m such an idiot. I’m sorry. I don’t know what I was thinking. I shouldn’t have started it so late. I’m such an idiot”. Sometimes it’s hard to not just say “Yeah, you are!”

It took me 2 more jars of spaghetti sauce, 2 cans of Hunts tomato sauce, and it still was quite generous with meat. It’s my own fault. Guess I better go back to setting an alarm clock before I snooze.

Leave a Reply

