The Passive Aggressive Out Of Work

When the Passive Aggressive is out of work, it can be an extremely frustrating time. When it comes to looking for a job, many things have not changed from what the guidelines were when we were growing up. While technology has progressed tremendously since then and with the click of a mouse you can send your resume all over the world, employers are not going to reach through your computer screen and hire you.

As Yogi Berra once said “It’s like de ja vu all over again”. I just went through this 3 years ago for 3 years. I thought this time was going to be different as he actually started out rather “gun ho”. When he got the word that the company that had interviewed him and he had high hopes for hired back one of their own layoffs for the position, everything went to hell. Now it’s mostly taking coffee and cigs to the garage to watch TV all day, take the trash out once a week, and cook dinner once in a great while when I ask him to. (That doesn’t include washing any dishes. LOL) Our yard and his past started projects have not seen any TLC at all now that he has all this time on his hands.

If you’ve been following along with me for very long, you know that my PA BF is very “passive”. In many ways, especially when dealing with me, my 2 kids still living at home, and my aging mother who lives with us, this is a good thing. Unfortunately along with the passive comes a lack of “aggressive”.

He never, even at the start of this, has gotten up early and gotten an early start to job hunting. I keep telling him and my son if they want a job, they need to be there early and act like they truly want one. Waking up to Sports Center mid morning, reading the sports section in the newspaper, and then deciding if you’re going to get a shower is not the way to appear enthusiastic. While I know that he is feeling very low as a man at this point and I know he would truly like to be working, his actions don’t exactly put him at the top of any employer’s list. Waiting to get on the computer until the late afternoon (if at all) because there’s finally no more sports of TV is also not the way to be “a most desired employee”. 

“Did somebody say “follow up”? Oh I could never do that. I don’t want to bug them. They have my resume. They’ll call me if they’re interested.” The passive aggressive says looking down and realizing again that his phone is OFF.

One Response

Leave a Reply

