A Passive Aggressive Backfire (I Think)

“The passive aggressive needs to have a relationship with someone who can be the object of his or her hostility”. And someone else to blame.

I have to say that this was my screw up, but I’m really not sure what to think. If you read my posts the last day or two, I was thinking the BF had started his vacation. I even said as much when he got home from work Mon. afternoon about his vacation starting. He never said a word.

Tues. nite we actually went out to dinner with some friends. I mentioned then about the BF being on vacation. Once again he never said a word. He never once corrected me. This morning I didn’t wake him up for work. Uh-oh. He woke up on his own about the time he usually gets in the shower after his coffee. He looked at the clock, swore a little and was off and running. Now he decides to say something!

Needless to say I apologized like crazy for being such a dingbat. No this was not a passive aggressive act from me for revenge. I truly was sorry that I got the dates screwed up. But I got to thinking a  little later.

Why didn’t he correct me when I had mentioned it earlier in the week? Not once but twice? Is this part of the passive aggressive nature that screws up and then has me begging for forgiveness? If it was a passive aggressive act, it backfired when he was almost late for work this morning, or did he get his way? Here I am feeling very sorry, terribly guilty, and obviously a little stupid. Was this a “win” for him?

One of the symptoms of living with a passive aggressive is always second guessing everything, including yourself. I’m a top member in that club. LOL.

One Response

  1. […] – World of Psychology wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt “The passive aggressive needs to have a relationship with someone who can be the object of his or her hostility”. And someone else to blame. I have to say that this was my screw up, but I’m really not sure what to think. If you read my posts the last day or two, I was thinking the BF had started his vacation. I even said as much when he got home from work Mon. afternoon about his vacation starting. He never said a word. Tues. nite we actually went out to dinner with some friends. I mentioned […]

Leave a Reply

